Sandford Arms – Attractions close by

Appleby Castle is situated just 15 miles from the English Lake District and deep in the heart of the Eden Valley, nestling alongside the meandering River Eden. This spectacular motte and bailey castle has been held by the Kings of England and Scotland and boasts one of the few remaining intact Norman keeps.

In the 17th Century, the Castle was the preferred residence of Lady Anne Clifford. She was a patron of authors and literature; and known for her many letters and diaries. Imagine being able to relax in the home of Lady Anne.

High Cup Wines are produced at Townhead Farm and Winery (CA16 6NF), Cumbria’s only commercial vineyard and winery, which prepares a range of fruit wines from fruit grown on the farm and in the local area.

Situated at the foot of the Pennines in the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Townhead Farm enjoys outstanding views of the Lakeland Fells across the valley of the River Eden. It is located at the foot of the impressive U-shaped valley known as High Cup Gill, which runs from High Cup Nick, at its north-eastern end, towards the Eden Valley.

Appleby-in-Westmorland is a traditional English market town set in beautiful countryside between the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales National Park, on the edge of the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. It’s the historic county town of Westmorland, in eastern Cumbria in the north west of England. Appleby is a small and picturesque town with a population of around 3,000 people, situated within a loop of the River Eden.

Appleby has numerous shops, places to have a coffee and attractions.

Appleby Golf Club is situated two miles east of the town centre just off the A66. The club enjoys a golfing history dating back to 1894 when the game was played on the Minsceugh just outside the town.

Appleby Golf Club is renowned for offering the best, all year round, greens in Cumbria and the friendliness of the welcome to all.

Brougham Castle was built by Robert de Vieuxpont in 1214 on the site of a Roman fort. The great tower largely survives, though later buildings were destroyed by fire in 1521. The keep and service buildings were surrounded by a timber palisade, replaced by Robert Clifford with a stone curtain wall C. 1300. He further strengthened the castle against attacks from the Scots and it was to prove vital during the Anglo-Scottish wars and the Wars of the Roses. Broughams military usefulness diminished after medieval times and there were periods of neglect, when the owners preferred to live elsewhere. It was also once home to Lady Anne Clifford, who inherited it in 1643. Today, the site features an introductory exhibition, including carved stones from the nearby Roman fort.